Main Menu Top Menu

School of Community Ministry

Community Ministry Overview

The faculty of the School of Community Ministry are deeply committed to participating in the mission of God through serving people at their point of need. As academic practitioners, each faculty person not only knows their subject areas, but have actively served in community service. Community Ministry is all about merging faith and service with vulnerable populations, perpetrators and victims, and those with health issues. The faculty teach with the objective of seeing personal and spiritual transformation of people and places. The School of Community Ministry offers degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate level.

Organizational Structure of the School of Community Ministry

The School of Community Ministry is under the leadership of the Dean who reports to the Provost. Periodic reports are made directly to the University faculty & Provost, and through the University President, to the Board of Trustees. The faculty conduct its day-to-day business primarily through its division and department meetings.

Faculty of the School of Community Ministry

All faculty must subscribe to Missional University’s Mission, Vision & Core Values Statement, Statement of Faith, and Ethos Statement, as well as meet the academic and professional requirements of the field in which they are teaching. The Dean and/or the department chair interview(s) all candidates for faculty teaching positions. All teachers are evaluated for their instructional performance in each course.

Departments of the School of Community Ministry

The School of Communty Ministry is divided into five departments:

  • Department of Pastoral Care & Chaplaincy
  • Department of Community Transformation
  • Department of Criminal Justice & Public Safety
  • Department of Medical & Health Services
  • Department of Social Work & Ministry

Additional information about the School of Community Ministry can be found on its website.